CALL ME CRUEL

 

the reverend hellfire-a velvet fist in an iron glove

CALL ME CRUEL

 

Call me Cruel,

but I often find it fun to fuck with

people’s Firmly Held Beliefs,

then watch them, sweaty palmed

as they try and keep their grip

on the wildly wriggling phantoms

set squirming in their grasp.

Similarly,

I like to undermine

some folks Fixed Foundations,

(so many built it seems on sand.)

 

As for Common Sense,

lurking, trembling,

behind its’ white picket fence,

well,

no offense,

but I can’t stand a bar of that

self-righteous nagging Bitch.

Yes it’s nag! Nag! Nag! A total hag,

like someones’ nightmare mother,

(Grendel, perhaps, or maybe Woody Allen’s)

 

You mention Popular Opinion?

I’m glad, because

I like to prick that pompous, puffed up

bubble of ignorance and conceit

every goddamn chance I get.

So

you can call me Perverse,

but my Peeves

are my Pets.

 

*********

*********

No review this week folks but tune in next week when I chat about the Total War series of historical computer games. From Shogun to Empire!

*********

The Reverend Hellfire is a renowned performance poet and an ordained minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe.

Don’t Delay! Become ordained today! Ask me how!

*********

~ by reverendhellfire on March 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
