I HAVE READ MY POEMS

 

I HAVE READ MY POEMS

 

I think you can tell a lot about a poet

by where they read their poems.

Myself,

I have read my poems in many places.

For example;

I have read my poems in pubs,

O yes, pubs full of belligerent

beer swilling drunks bellowing bullshit,

and I beat them back with my own bravado

by the end.

 

And I have read my poems in faux bohemian cafes

to wannabe intellectuals, too cool caffeine

connoisseurs and Chess Nazis.

 

I have read my poems beneath the stars

as Fire Dancers whirled their burning Stave’s

and spun around me,

tracing arabesques of flame in time

to the rhythm of my words.

 

I have read banned poems

on street corners and set them on fire

while the cheering crowd chants,

BURN BABY BURN!”

 

I have read my poems

to the big silky oak tree

in the back yard.

 

I have read my poems to empty echoing

Auditoriums..toriums..toriums..

 

I have read my poems to prostitutes

in the back seats of taxi’s,

while the educated ethnic driver listens in awe

and later doesn’t charge me for the ride,

An honour to have you in my taxi, sir.”

What a nice man he was. Oh, yes.

 

And I have read my poems

to packs of dogs in the graveyard,

Declaiming from atop of tombstones

as they listened attentively,

pink tongues lolling out,

a truly appreciative audience.

( My girlfriend had a job walking dogs, you see

and we’d detour thru the cemetery)

 

I have read my poems to spread legged

fatbellied thin blue lines

of grim visaged police protecting the State.

Skipping before them in a Shamanic crow mask & feathers,

taunting them with apocalyptic denunciations,

watching them grind their teeth

as they waited for orders to crush my bones.

 

I have read my poems to

well meaning probation officers

appointed by the Court

In the Hope of Enlightening them slightly..

 

Oh & I have read my poems to my Lovers after Midnight,

as their eyes shone with Adoration

Understanding and Love.

 

I have read my poems to the mirror..

and the mirror read them back to me.

 

I have read my poems to the lone hitchhiker

I picked up on an unlit country road

one two a.m. Eternal night/

Yeah we swapped poems back and forth while I drove

and I never thought to ask for his name

when I let him out somewhere near dawn

and we shook hands and parted friends

and never saw each other again.

 

So softly I have read my poems

to my unconscious father,

Lying on his Death-bed,

ragged breathing drawing to a close.

 

I have also read my poems

to my unborn daughter

dreaming in the womb.

 

And now my friends

I have read this poem

to you.

 ****

***

The Reverend Hellfire..he’d read your poems.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on May 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
