LAZARUS OF THE SINKS

 

LAZARUS OF THE SINKS

 

Its Tuesday, Payday,

and I choose..Freedom! Hooray!

So I walk from the old Chaingang Cafe

with a $115 in my pocket, final pay,

a kitchen-hand no more.

 

I am a happy man!

No more scrubbing blackened pans!

No more abuse from the bullying Chef,

no more being under-paid by the thieving Owner.

No more feeding in a filthy, ancient kitchen

on your left-over scraps,

and being paid ten dollars an hour, cash-in-hand,

to sweat and break my back.

I am Free to resume my former/ongoing career

of Poet and Fool!

A Prophession poorly paid tis true,

but my time is my own,

and I am free,

oh yes, I am free.

 

The Manager stares at me

with the blackened eyes of a squid,

peering up from a deep trench

in the ocean floor, uncomprehending,

as I rise like Lazarus from the sinks!

Yes, from the greasy depths I rise,

where Octopoid horrors lurk in the murky scum

and Salmonella’s name is King,

I rise like Icarus to Sing

my sacred verses to the Sun

and walk in un-employed and useless bliss,

a Free Man once again and shouting,

THANK THE GOOD GODDESS I AM A POET!”

to the startled and uncomprehending street.

***

***

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet and an Ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists And the Church of the Universe.  He’s basically harmless.

****

~ by reverendhellfire on August 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
