FORGET THE DEAD

 

Forget the Dead

 

It sometimes seemed unfair to me,

the way we gradually forget the dead,

letting go of our grief bit by bit,

each day a little later in the afternoon

we remember them and mourn,

until whole days go by at a time

without the gripe of grief

gripping your guts.

 

Years go by, eventually

a certain season perhaps

will have a special sadness,

a few grey days of flatness,

then the anniversary passes.

 

I felt like a fucking traitor,

I must admit,

that I could let myself live with their loss,

but what else could I do?

I could make my life

a cenotaph of grief,

turn my stony face unto the wall

in set and stubborn silence,

but that hardly seems fair to the living,

nor of benefit to the dead.

 

Instead, resigned to my treachery,

I sip and savour

the green tea’s bitter flavour

and bargain with the gods

for one more day.

 

***

***

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe.

Having seen how ‘normal’ people behave, he is quite happy to be considered insane.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on July 15, 2012.

3 Responses to “FORGET THE DEAD”

  1. Reblogged this on PRESIDENTS OF THE SOLAR SYSTEM.

  2. Great poem, Rev. I like it. Made me remember a good friend long passed, of drinking wine until we were grinning and skylarking,
    of listening to Pink Floyd late into the night,
    of sharing secret understandings of the meanings of our lives,
    of wishing I’d been there on that fateful day to block his way and change the path of his destiny.

Leave a Reply

 
