DAUGHTER

 

DAUGHTER

 

Been there

while you were being born.

Holding your Mother felt

the great pulses move through her body,

the waves you rode to birth

crashed through her,

you, surfing the waters,

came on inexorable, inevitable,

yet still it seemed like a surprise

when I held you in my arms at last

and stared in your staring blue eyes.

 

I was

walking home from the Hospital,

leaving a red-faced stranger

resting with her mother,

when I suddenly felt connected

to the World’s Great Patterns

in a way I’d never felt before.

I could sense

the endless cycles of Nature

playing out all around me,

I could

feel the Earth turning

beneath my striding feet.

I could

smell my own mortality itself,

like the lingering,

over-ripe sweetness

of the fallen Frangipani flowers

turning brown beneath the trees..

***

***

***

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe.

As the Reveremd warns us;

“An elephant may never forget

But a cat will never forgive.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on September 9, 2012.

5 Responses to “DAUGHTER”

  1. Reblogged this on PRESIDENTS OF THE SOLAR SYSTEM.

  2. http://managuagunntoday.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/my-kingdom-my-kingdom-for-one-lovely-blog-award/ I have enjoyed your blog and the atmosphere you create – so forwarded the award on to you,and thanks!

  3. Beautiful! You are a good father. How old is she now

Leave a Reply

 
