JUDGEMENT

 

Judgement

 

It was the first question

that everyone asked me

when I told them you were dead.

“Did she O.D.?”

they’d say,

“was it an overdose?”

 

It made me angry on your behalf,

I could feel my jaw tighten,

the rage rise in my chest..

The sanctimonious bastards.

Like it made a difference how you died,

like that was the thing that mattered,

that they could file you away

under the label they had for you,

summed up and judged,

that classic cliché,

the cautionary example.

 

The third time it happened I cracked,

“No,” I snapped back,

“it was a heart attack, alright?

Sorry to disappoint you.”

But I wasn’t sorry at all.

I was glad you escaped their preconceptions,

even if you had to die to do it.

 

***

***

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanism AND the Church of the Universe.

It beats working  for a living.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on September 30, 2012.

One Response to “JUDGEMENT”

  1. Yes. It’s soo easy for everything to be instantly categorized. Luckily not everybody is so crass.

Leave a Reply

 
