Daddy’s Gone Now, Mrs Rose

 A happy edwardian family

Daddy’s gone now Mrs Rose.

 

“Daddy!” she’d gurgle,

blue eyes fixed upon my face,

as I spoon fed her oatmeal mush,

“Daddy!”

 

But I was a stranger, just eighteen,

and she was eighty-four,

leathered skin and bones mainly

though her eyes were still cornflower blue.

All day long she lay curled in a foetal position,

in her hospital bed.

Every four hours I’d turn her over

to prevent bedsores but she had them anyway

so I’d have to change the dressings too.

At least once a shift,

I’d also have to change the soiled sheets,

wipe her clean, change her gown.

At feeding time sometimes

she’d take the spoon in a clumsy claw

and try and feed herself,

but mainly she just let me slowly

spoon-feed the mush

into her toothless mouth

and watch me with her watery blue eyes.

“Daddy!”, she’d call me, as I fed her apple mush,

“Daddy!”

 

It broke my fucking heart,

but I’d smile and brightly say,

“That’s a good girl! You ate it all!”

and wipe the drool from her chin.

 

But later when she fell asleep once more,

the long coarse silver hair

fanned out against the pillow,

the Ward silent save for the ceiling fans whirling,

I’d sometimes stroke her head and whisper softly,

softly, so she wouldn’t hear:

“Daddy’s gone now, Mrs Rose,” I’d whisper sadly,

“Daddy’s gone.”

!!?

***

soulowner

***

vale Ned

We are pleased to see that Ned Kelleys remains have been at last returned to his family and allowed a decent burial. Now can the idiots who have stolen his skull please return that also so the poor man can have some rest.

***

!

The Reverend Hellfire is a recovering Performance Poet and an ordained Minister of several shadowy cults.

Hates the Heat

***

~ by reverendhellfire on January 20, 2013.

3 Responses to “Daddy’s Gone Now, Mrs Rose”

  1. Very good, Reverend. My 88-year old wife is in a home and I feed her at times. She also has bed sores, but her dressings are changed by staff. So I know of what you speak…

    • Deepest sympathies my friend, I can understand what a heartbreaker it must be for you. There’s so little we can do for loved ones in such a situation, all we can do is act with kindness and compassion, and hope that it helps.

  2. The dreaded infirm of old age. We never know who or what may be at that bedside. Equal hate for cold…

Leave a Reply

 
