A little death, a little life

 bush-turkey chick

A little death, a little life.

 

Now is the time of year

baby bush-turkey chicks appear,

emerging from those mighty mounds of earth and mulch

to scurry and dart thru the undergrowth.

in their first few perilous months.

Yesterday morning when I looked out

from my backdoor I saw,

a turkey chick foraging innocently near the compost heap.

A little bundle of brown-yellow fluff & feathers,

it looked so vulnerable.

One hour later,

when I looked out again from my back door,

it was in the same place, dead.

I went to have a closer look,

the head was missing, the neck a bloody stump,

it’s chest had been torn open

and you could see the heart and lungs.

Already in the trees the crows were gathering,

cawing softly to each other.

I left them to their bloody business.

One hour later, the body was gone,

there was nothing left at all, even for the ants,

only a scattering trail of feathers

remained to tell the tale.

 

This morning, remembering the chicks violent death,

I was glum as I went to look out my back door

knowing I’d see that poor creature no more.

But down near the compost heap

innocently foraging,

there were now two yellow-brown turkey chicks

scratching the soil.

turkey chicks two ***

hackedJPIG red

***

!!!!!!

The Reverend Hellfire is a recovering Performance Poet and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe.

Warranty void when read.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on February 3, 2013.

One Response to “A little death, a little life”

  1. And so it goes…

Leave a Reply

 
