THE SPIDERS

 spider and eggsak

The Spiders

 

I Dream that I sit still, unmoving,

statue adamant, a rock,

as all around me plotting spiders

weave their ceaseless, cunning webs,

to bind me in their silken evil,

devour me with their sideways jaws.

 

But I am unafraid, I say,

“They cannot kill me, I am strong,

too strong to be their prey

and they.. are only insects after all,

their venom stings and numbs a little,

nothing more.

I do not fear them or their webs,

for they are small and I am strong..”

 

Briefly then I smile until

the Spider chorus answers shrill,

“You are strong but we are many,

our eyes are never dimmed by sleep,

the limbs that weave are never still,

Our silk is strong, as strong as steel,

it grips like tar and, fool,

Our poison is not meant to kill!

Our young ones like to eat meat fresh

Our venom merely stills our prey,

that we may lay our eggs to hatch

in living flesh laid out for our

dear childrens’ first Charnel Buffet.”

spider web world

***

Ashes 2 ashes

***

!!!!!

The Reverend Hellfire is a recovering Performance Poet and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe.

“The Laws are spider-webs for the rich and steel chains for the poor, they are fishing nets in the hands of Governments”-Pierre Joseph Proudhon

***

 

~ by reverendhellfire on March 17, 2013.

4 Responses to “THE SPIDERS”

  1. The menace of ‘we are small but we are many’ is a reminder of how many laws are there to trip us up if we defy government…

  2. Arachnids are not as fearsome as the powers that be among us humans…

Leave a Reply

 
