POLTERGEIST

 reflect

POLTERGEIST

 

A stranger to this life it seems

passing like a ghost

empty handed through your dreams.

You do not hear my laughter or my screams,

you do not feel my touch and brush away

like spider webs

my insubstantial schemes.

 

I sit beside you

you do not turn.

I knock on doors and windows

you do not hear,

and though I stand before you,

you stare right through me

with eyes both dark and clear.

Enraged I try to reach you

break glass, hammer walls,

weep with grief at Midnight

but you are gone

and I am alone

a poltergeist chained to this empty room.

Like a forgotten cup

on a dusty shelf

in an empty house

where no-one lives.

 

I am that cup

emptied of grief.

No hand reaches out for me.

No hand reaches out to me.

No lips touch mine.

 

***

Tacks Jpig

***

!!!

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe. For his sins he is also President of the Kurilpa Institute of Creativity Inc.,.

“Bow down ye Mighty and Despair!”

***

~ by reverendhellfire on August 11, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
