SHOW TRIAL

 corbybars jpigNed kelly

Show Trial

 

I dream that I’m an actor

cast in a trite morality play

set in a prison

I try and act my part

and speak my character’s

stilted lines like

I believe them

but the Director

is angry with me

and tells me

I’m not going to be paid

for my work.

 

I try to be strong

but I am weak

my failure to act

becomes a cage

only my despair

rattles the bars

where is the key?

where the lock?

Both prisoner and torturer

I rack my brains

for a way to get out

it must be done

it has to be done

I could easily

succumb to the comforting

shadows but

there are those I love

outside the bars

held hostage to my fate.

if I surrender they

would only end up living

in this prison in my place.

for their sake

I survive

for their sake

I work for my parole

for their sake

I plot my escape

for their sake

I endure,

as they parade me

like a sideshow freak

before the gawping cameras.

schapelle corby masked

***

famailjpig reduced

***

flyer for cup with cup with address

***

!!!!!

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet, an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe and still President of the Kurilpa Institute of Creativity.

Skates on thin ice.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on February 23, 2014.

9 Responses to “SHOW TRIAL”

  1. We don’t have ‘bread and circuses’ in the arena any more, so the media try to fill the void by sensational stuff about gaoled prisoners, who become ‘sideshow freaks’ for the mob.

    • You’re right my friend, it’s still “Panem et Ludii” the mob craves.
      Still, at least they don’t do badger baiting anymore. There was a fine old sport for the working classes!

  2. WOW! What a vivid dream and what an imagination you have. I loved it.

  3. Food & entertainment at the coliseum for the masses keeps them voting for the upper classes…

Leave a Reply

 
