THE UNDESERVING

 Sorry folks, sermon delayed as the Reverend’s been nursing a couple of sickies today. They sleep now and so on to today’s poem..

crow dancing

The Undeserving

 

“And so”, the Social-Worker sighed,

“they come to me to solve their problems

petty and obscure.

In my Professional capacity I have no equal,

call it bedside manner I suppose,

What seems to be the problem, I ask yet again,

of some rough Stranger, as though they were my Friend.

I can’t help it. Push the Emotional Buttons

and the Sympathies arise as if on cue.

I was always a sucker for a sad tale.

It’s true.

Empathy’s like a Curse

or worse, for me.

So time and again

I lift a Helping Hand for “the Undeserving”

even though I know they take me

for a Fool, despise my aid

and laugh about me afterwards.”

 

“I don’t blame them,” I replied,

“It’s the Beggars’ Code.

Bite the hand that feeds you

or be condemned to be grateful

for sanctimonious crumbs all your Life.

I know. I’ve wandered winter streets myself,

a Failure in borrowed overcoat,

without a home or hope or gold

and let me tell you, matey,

Charity is always cold.”

 a crow lights tippi hendrens ciggie

***

Poetry Day Jpigred

***

!

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet, President of the Kurilpa Institute of Creativity, an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanists AND the Church of the Universe.

Well, someone had to do it.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on March 9, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
