RE-ENTRY

 I was going to call this poem Long Weekend, or possibly Long Lost Weekend. I may do so yet.

7092-spaceman-alien-universe-galaxy

RE-ENTRY

 

I‘m not sure I can do this,

I said,

face the Return to Normality so soon.

I need to hide in a darkened room

for awhile,

with thick, velvet curtains that admit

only the occasional sound of birds

or

a ray of light

for dust motes to dance in.

 

Deep-sea divers returning to the surface

have this problem,

and astronauts after re-entry,

there’s a period of re-adjustment.

Sure it’s fun to float around

in free-fall for awhile,

but the muscles and bones forget

how to deal with Gravity,

and they have to learn how to walk

all over again, like a stroke victim.

 

Spend too long in Zero-G

you’d probably end up

a gelatinous, shapeless blob,

held together with skin,

the limbs morphing into flippers

or tentacles

and the black, bottomless eyes of a squid.

 

Don’t answer the phone,

you’ll regret it

you’ll get madness erupting

or be trapped

in the tedium of polite conversation,

relentless as a dripping tap.

Let the answering machine do the dirty work,

while we ponder the problems of re-entry.

20s mouse

***

forget me not JPig

***

The Reverend Hellfire..

etc.,

***

~ by reverendhellfire on April 27, 2014.

2 Responses to “RE-ENTRY”

  1. Greetings Reverend,

    I certainly enjoyed this weeks sermon, how I wish I could have attended the afternoon mass today, alas though, work had stolen me away and did not let me out until too late.

    Regards, Kyle

Leave a Reply

 
