TWENTY/TWENTY


traffic full 002

20/20 {Redux}

I know there’s a pattern there somewhere”,

I shrugged sadly as I passed the newspaper,

but I’ve recently discovered that I can’t see,

and now all the news is just braile to me”.

*

Though he did his best to be kind,

it came as a shock

when the doctor

told me I was blind.

Surely he was mistaken!

At first it seemed absurd,

but he was a Professional

I had to accept his word.

*

But I can see you now”, I said.

You only think you can”, he said.

You see {if you’ll forgive the pun}

when of the Senses missing’s one,

the Others struggle to make up the difference.

The Neural Network rewires itself,

develops hitherto

undeveloped formations,

neurons link and merge to create

a complicated confection,

a composite picture in the brain.

*

“So you only think you can see my face”,

the Doctor patiently explained,

“You’d better get sunglasses,

and carry this white cane”.

*

Coming home the familiar streets

no longer matched their names.

Yes as I went tapping with my cane,

now that I knew eye was blind,

nothing looked the same.

*

It made a kind of sense though,

why half my Life

I never could seem to see

what other’s apparently saw quite clearly;

Things like God and Progress and Patriotism

always remained but shadowy Chimerae to me.

*

Or the way people have always seemed

to sense that I’m disabled

in some fashion.

Like the time that old lady

helped me cross the street,

even though I was just

waiting for a bus.

(The old dear was so insistent

I didn’t want to make a fuss.)

*

Oh well, I thought, look on the bright side,

there’s still music and the radio,

and furthermore

I’ll be able to catch out

any heartless scumbags who

take my blindness for granted

and try to trick or cheat me.

*

I can leave my car

in the handicapped parking spots,

and I’ll probably get lots of discounts

and concessions for stuff.

And I’ll buy a happy, roly-poly guide-dog,

with a big floppy tongue

maybe a Labrador (they always bring the chicks in)

and I’ll take it for long walks in the park

and pretty girls will feel sorry for me,

and admire my quiet bravery

and strike up conversations.

*

So I shrugged off my Depression,

Bravely resolved to accept my Fate,

Went home and looked at the flowers,

and they still sounded great.

“”

Justice Jpeg

***

For those in the Brisbane area

come and join

the Reverend Hellfire and Friends

SUNDAY 26th, 2pm!

The Kurilpa Poets October Happening

Brians Spiral art modifiedsidewise

with Virtual Gallery’s feature artist; Brian Gilmore

Eleanor-Jackson in Black and White

Feature Poet ; Eleanor Jackson KURILPA POETS HAPPENING***

 Come and see Eleanor Jackson

and her amazing Performing Poems!

At the Olde Croquet Club

91 Cordelia Street, West End

beneath the treees

of sacred Musgrave Park.

with MC the Reverend Hellfire providing incendiary guidelines

Also featuring..

*Free Food, Refreshments and Parking!

*Open Mic Sessions!

*October’s “Mystery Musician“!

*The Virtual Gallery

with Unsuspected Artist BRIAN GILMORE!

Pay $5 at the door and pay no more!

More details at; kurilpapoets.wordpress.com

*******

??!!

The Reverend Hellfire is a practising Performance Poet,

President of the Kurilpa Institute of Creativity Inc.,

and an Ordained Minister of the Church of the Universe

and the Church of Spiritual Humanism.

One side of his family tree is Blackfellas and Bastards. The other half is Bushrangers and Horse-thieves.

It bears a rich crop of nuts each generation.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on October 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
