TONIGHT THE MOON OFFENDED

Lunar_libration_with_phase_Oct_2007_450px

Tonight the Moon Offended

Once more with night the Moon proceeds

Upon her stately course.

She carries her own sad music with her always

as She goes,

and fills the air it seems as though

with many Violins.

*

Yes tonight the Moon imperious strides,

but all the while, behind the clouds

her face She seeks to hide.

*

 She keeps her own company tonight,

drifting through the cloud palaces,

Her courtiers pace behind her

at a respectful distance,

Whimpering to each other, unseen

In the shadows of the trees.

Their whispering is the rustling of the leaves,

they say;

See the Queen tonight… She is thoughtful, no?”

But why does She not smile??”

Oh yes, her smile is like a mountain lily

kissed by a dream”.

But why does She not smile??”

*

She dreams, by and by,

Resplendent upon her marble couch, the sky.

Moon at sea cropped

Meanwhile,

surveying his Lunar Goddess

from far far far below,

a pensive poet sighs and cries

unto the skies above;

“Oh Moon!

My moody Moon!

Why do you turn your face from me?

How have I offended thee?

Why do you scowl behind

Your sullen shawl of yellow clouds?

Why Veil thyself in vapours,

like a grey and shifting shroud?

Why will you shine not upon

your poet and his labours?

Are not we poets, after all,

Your most devoted Admirers?

Your most faithful Lovers?

Your most obedient Slaves?

Haven’t I written all of my most

beautiful poems

for you?

*

O How have I offended thee?

Why do you turn your face from me?

Was it something I said.

Something I wrote that you read?

Was it because, Oh Moon,

I once rhymed you with spoon?

O Moon

I’m sorry.

I will never,

Do it,

Again.

*

There!

See now,

You smiled!

That’s better then.

So come and sit with me awhile,

in this secluded garden where

the silver fountains play

and we will trace the paths of stars

as they cartwheel through the sky.

And we will dream (as lovers always do)

until the dawn ‘cross the night sky seeps

And back to our beds we both shall creep,

You beneath the western shadowed mountains,

and I behind my bedroom’s velvet curtains.

And as we sleep, we shall ignore the day

and dream of twilight’s dawning

and of the new night’s play.

*

So why oh Moon,

My moody Moon,

Why do you turn your face from me?”

moon & sea3

* * *

Holiday car jpig

***

Rev wishes you a merry solstciefLAME

The Reverend Hellfire

wishes Friends, Family and Followers

a Serendipitous Solstice

and the most prosperous of New Years.

And Remember; He’ll back your Alibi,

if you back His.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on December 28, 2014.

One Response to “TONIGHT THE MOON OFFENDED”

  1. I don’t know what to say, but I like it!

Leave a Reply

 
