THERE IS NO EMOTICON FOR HOW I FEEL

traffic full 002

There Is No Emoticon For How I Feel

*

I don’t swallow hollow “Follows”,

Go take a hike, Oh shallow “Likes”.

I’ll take the lesser travelled road

and despise the Bloggers’ Code:

I’ll Like you if you Like me“,

Yes, who gives a fuck for Quality

when you’re chasing Quantity?

This Quest for superficial Popularity

is a sign of Emotional Immaturity,

or just an advertising ploy,

go and try some other boy.

*

Who are all these “Facebook Friends”?

(Fairweather Strangers to the End.)

On my hands I can count my real Friends,

the Few on whom I can depend

in this Age of Information

where I still feel trapped by Isolation,

for despite the ease of Communication

I still can’t get a Conversation!

I’m lucky to get a line or two

in response (and forget about punctuation!)

*

True, I can talk to old Friends far-away,

but few of them have much to say,

now that we live far apart.

Still I keep them in my Heart,

but they lead their lives,

I lead mine,

Now I’m just a Tag on their Timeline.

*

Don’t make the mistake

of expressing an Opinion,

thoughtful critical response

belongs in a Museum.

Just use the emoticon for “Frown”

Thumbs up! Thumbs down!

That’s Life in the Virtual Colosseum.

So B4 I accept your Friend Request,

can U pass this simple Test:

If I changed households, one fine day,

would you help me move,

if you weren’t paid?

phone abandoned

*******

flatland pt3 Jpig

***

Reverend Redrum

The Reverend Hellfire is a practised Performance Poet,

President of the Kurilpa Institute of Creativity Inc,

and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanism

AND the Church of the Universe.

For some reason his writings appear here on this site every Sunday.

Go figure..

***

~ by reverendhellfire on April 5, 2015.

6 Responses to “THERE IS NO EMOTICON FOR HOW I FEEL”

  1. Id help you move but im good like that

  2. Hope your not really having to move : (

Leave a Reply

 
