PREQUIEM FOR A POET

-german-soldiers-execute young communist

Prequiem for a Poet

*

“Oh dear..I think I’m turning into a God!” –last words of Vespasian,

Emperor of Rome, subsequently deified.

*

Will I crumble and crack when it happens

when they give me the terrible news,

or contemplate calm as a stoic and smile

as though merely just slightly amused.

*

Will I weep like a woman

or cry like a child,

give in to vile ravings

both vulgar and wild,

will I pound on the wall

or go run down the hall

or Party till closing time

and go out in Style.

*

Will I say something Witty,

and preferrably pithy

so people remember my Name,

or just silently nod

like an inscrutable god

(the effect will be somewhat the same).

*

Yes I’m sure I will joke when it happens

or make up some terrible pun,

for the truth is I fear, when the Gallows are near

it just brings out my strange sense of Fun.

*

ENVOI;

If you can’t make a Joke

when you’re facing your Death,

my dear Friend I do fear,

that you’re wasting your breath.

*

"..and tho this is my first execution I'm sure I'll soon get the hang of it. But seriously folks.."

“..and tho this is my first public execution I’m sure I’ll soon get the hang of it. But seriously folks..”

***

twinkle twinkle

***

May 2016 final web handbill V2

***

Greetings from the Reverend Hellfire

The Reverend Hellfire is a practised Performance Poet,

President of the Kurilpa Institute of Creativity Inc.,

and an ordained Minister of the Church of Spiritual Humanism

AND the Church of the Universe.

Will validate parking tickets.

***

~ by reverendhellfire on May 15, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
